The Big Reveal!

Standard

Yay! It’s finally time to reveal the pieces I created for the 6th Bead Soup Blog Party so graciously hosted by Lori Anderson at http://www.prettythingsblog.com!

My partner is the lovely and talented Lori Poppe of http://www.lorillijeanscreativecorner.blogspot.com.  Here is the bead soup she sent to me:

My first project was to create a necklace using the beautiful sky blue pendant and the lampwork beads. This was a bit of a challenge at first, as I don’t usually work with pastel colors. Once I picked up on the black background of the lampwork beads I was able to bring a little of my “darkness” into the necklace with some black chain. I think it turned out to be an interesting combination!

Lori included a terrific handmade copper toggle clasp and I used it for this necklace of magnesite slabs and copper wire beads-

I found a use for the wonderful horse head beads by combining them with turquoise magnesite and a black lava bead in this bracelet and matching earrings-

It was so much fun being a part of this event, and I can’t wait to see everyone else’s creations! Here’s a link so you can follow along-

http://lorianderson-beadsoupblogparty.blogspot.com/2012/06/participants-of-6th-bead-soup-blog.html

About lilruby jewelry

My name is Joan Williams and I'm a self taught jewelry designer and mixed media artist. I was born and raised in the Chicago area, and I now live in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband, son and jillions of beads - along with lots of ephemera and stuff that my packrat ancestors saved (and I'm so glad they did)! My passion is creating jewelry that bears the patina of time and travel, using a blend of new components and found objects. I'm also crazy about antiques, horses, flowers, rusty hinges and chipped paint, so you never know what I might be inspired to talk about. I hope you'll stop by from time to time to see what I'm up to! Click below to visit my Etsy shop and my Facebook page, and to see additional photos on Flickr.

66 responses »

  1. Pingback: Handmade Jewelry Ideas abound – Peaches and Cream Bead Soup 6 — 365daysofcrafts.com

  2. I really like your touch of “darkness” beautiful necklace, and I love the slabs and horsehead beads and what you did with them!

  3. What an eclectic mix of beads you received. I love how different all the pieces are. That slab necklace is definitely an eye-catcher! They’re all great. Wonderful soup!

  4. Joan…Everything is so very Beautiful!!!. I LOVE the necklace…..very much!!! I am so glad you enjoyed working with all the of pretties I sent you. It was awesome to be your partner.

  5. I love how you worked around the challenge of the focal being pastel. The result is stunning! The 2nd necklace is pretty awesome. I love those beads and what a statement! Great job.
    Thanks for stopping by yesterday to visit my bead soup.

  6. Nice job Joan. I love this first necklace, so feminine. I would bet you are wearing the “horse’ beaded bracelet right now-lol. Can’t see you wanting to sell that. I would love to wear it. Great pieces.

  7. I love how you brought your style to the pastel beads – the result is a very sophisticated girlie piece. All the things you created are really great.

  8. I love that you added a little contrast and ‘toughness’ to those pastel colors with the darker wire and chain. I probably would have stayed on the safe side with some silver. Thanks for reminding me that playing it safe is sometimes the wimpy way out! All of your pieces are really lovely, but there’s just something about the sweetness of those horse earrings that calls out to me. So not my style. . .weird!!
    Overall you did a great job with this challenge. 🙂

  9. What a diverse array of artwork you put out. I have to admit that I would have been stumped with horse head beads, but the bracelet and earrings are stunning and the black pulled the first piece together perfectly

      • Lori, I am in love with the horse head beads. Would you mind sharing where those came from? I live in Dallas and Rock Barrel is one of my favorite stops on bead shopping days.

  10. Oh, what a lovely soup mix you got – I love that blue flower pendant! I have to admit – when I saw your ingredients I thought I would make exactly the necklace you made: wire wrap those glass beauties and add the flower 🙂 Must be the first time when I think along the same lines with the artists.
    Love your pieces – charming, warm, and using my favourite colour palette!

Leave a comment