BHBSBP reveal!

Standard

bsbp collage badge

So happy to be participating in another of Lori Anderson’s fabulous blog hops! This one is the Bead Hoarder’s edition, and the beautiful idea behind it is to send your partner a bead (or beads) that you’ve been hoarding – something that really is special to you, as a true act of kindness. I love that!

My partner is the very talented Pam DeBoer of Pamela’s Studio. Be sure to check out her vibrant, artistic designs on her Facebook page!

Here’s what I sent to Pam –

my bh beads

I bought that awesome ceramic focal bead in a great bead shop we happened upon as my husband and I were passing through Savannah, Georgia on a special vacation 6 years ago. I loved this bead because it was unlike any others I’ve ever had – it reminds me of a Calder sculpture or maybe a Picasso painting. I chose a strand of tiny faceted agates and some Czech glass to go with it.

As I was getting ready to send it off I decided to paint the box to match, just for fun!

beads and box

I really hope Pam enjoyed creating with it!

Now for what she sent to me-a beautifully detailed poly clay pendant-

bh poly bead

And some great Tibetan clay beads, lampwork rondelles and my favorites – a pair of sweet handmade ceramic birds!

bird beads

I ended up making 3 pieces, and they are all very different from each other. First, I used the Tibetan beads along with some pierced sterling beads and lampwork discs from my stash for this funky pair of earrings-

blog hop 019

Next I made a long knotted necklace for the pendant using S-lon cord and sparkly little faceted Czech glass beads-

bh pendant

Finally, those little handmade birds – I perched them on a rusty tin birdhouse pendant along with Czech glass flowers and beads. Perfect for Spring!

blog

blog hop 017

I had a great time working with these wonderful beads – thanks for hopping along with me!

Click below to visit Lori’s blog and the links to all the other blog hoppers!

http://www.prettythingsblog.com/2017/03/welcome-to-bead-soup-blog-party-bead.html

Save

About lilruby jewelry

My name is Joan Williams and I'm a self taught jewelry designer and mixed media artist. I was born and raised in the Chicago area, and I now live in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband, son and jillions of beads - along with lots of ephemera and stuff that my packrat ancestors saved (and I'm so glad they did)! My passion is creating jewelry that bears the patina of time and travel, using a blend of new components and found objects. I'm also crazy about antiques, horses, flowers, rusty hinges and chipped paint, so you never know what I might be inspired to talk about. I hope you'll stop by from time to time to see what I'm up to! Click below to visit my Etsy shop and my Facebook page, and to see additional photos on Flickr.

80 responses »

  1. Hi Joan, Your earrings are fabulous. They are my favorite of your three designs. The simple knotted necklace lets that lovely flower pendant be the star. Great design. The bird necklace is really springy and cute.

  2. I love all three things. That polymer clay pendant is gorgeous, but it would have been quite a challenge for me. You totally complimented it with the beaded knotted cord. Nice job!

  3. The earrings and the necklace are adorable, but on my gosh, that pendant is to die for! So sweet and so clever!

  4. Oh my goodness. I love the necklaces, so different and unique. I especially love the use of the birds, I was imagining earrings and when I scrolled down and saw how you used them the the flowers and birds house I was pleasantly surprised!

  5. I love that you painted the box. The birdhouse pendant is lovely. I like the polymer focal as it looks a like 3-D Russian lacquer bead so your design let that shine and take center stage.

  6. You are always so creative! I love what you did here. The black and red earrings are lovely…..and the knotted necklace is so pretty. The bird necklace with the flowers is sweet, too.

  7. You sent an amazing bead. I’m drooling over it. When I scrolled through your post, things went from ‘wow’ to ‘out of this world’! The earrings and both necklaces are really amazing. You nailed them all with style and elegance. Great post!

  8. Well, first I thought the earrings were my favorite….then I decided I loved the way your knotted cord went perfectly with that pendant, but then I saw the birdhouse! Love love love that! I am especially fond of birds and it was a beautiful design. Definitely one of my favorites so far.

  9. Love everything you made. The pendant is like one of those lacquered Russian painted pieces, but all 3D, coming to life and I like how you kept the knotted design and colors simple to accent rather than complete with it. Love, love, love the birdhouse.

  10. Gorgeous! I would have never thought to use the birds like that… how inspired! It makes me happy to look at them. Your knotted necklace is beautiful, too–it highlights the pendant perfectly. Lovely work!

  11. Wow Joan, I saw your Birdie necklace on Pinterest and absolutely loved it, you put your soup to beautiful use. Love each one of your designs.

  12. You really outdid yourself – painting the box to match. 🙂 I love the pieces you made. Very artistic and wearably fun! Great job on your soup.

  13. Way Cool painted box to match the bead..i will have to tuck that idea for a future gift.
    And I love the Bird house necklace! Whimsical and artsy…just clever anyway you look at it!

  14. Hello blogger, i must say you have very interesting content here.
    Your blog should go viral. You need initial
    traffic boost only. How to get it? Search for; Mertiso’s
    tips go viral

Leave a comment